In accordance to the FTC guidelines, I must state that I make no monetary gains from my reviews or endorsements here on Confessions of a Literary Persuasion. All books I review are either borrowed, purchased by me, given as a gift, won, or received in exchange for my honest review of the book in question.

02 January, 2014

Books Wild Released in December 2013

1.) Time Flies  by Bill Cosby  on 12/2/2013
2.) Briarpatch  by Ross Thomas  on 12/2/2013
3.) How Long will i Cry? Voices of Youth Violence  by Miles Harvey (Editor)  on 12/2/2013
4.) Hope Unraveled: The People's Retreat and Our Way Back  by Richard C. Harwood on 12/2/2013
5.) Brazen  by Carly Phillips on 12/2/2013
6.) The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (Book 1)   by Alexander McCall Smith on 12/8/2013
7.) The Last Juror  by John Grisham on 12/9/2013
8.) How Long will I Cry? Voices of Youth Violence  by Miles Harvey (Editor)  on 12/10/2013
9.) The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (Book 1)   by Alexander McCall Smith on 12/8/2013
10.) The Last Juror  by John Grisham on 12/9/2013
11.) How Long will I Cry? Voices of Youth Violence  by Miles Harvey (Editor) on 12/10/2013 CAUGHT!
12.) Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas  by James Patterson on 12/17/2013
13.) The Good Earth  by Pearl S. Buck on 12/17/2013
14.) Martin the Warrior   by Brian Jacques on 12/17/2013
15.) Galileo's Daughter  by Dava Sobel on 12/22/2013
16.) Mattimeo: A Tale From Redwall  by Brian Jacques on 12/22/2013  
17.)     Anne of Green Gables  by L.M. Montgomery on 12/27/2013

18.)     Julia Roberts: America's Sweetheart  by Mark Bego on 12/28/2013

01 January, 2014

2013 wrap-up

According to Good reads during 2013 I read 219 books. This includes 2 short stories which I don't count in my personal total. So I read 217 books.

Looking at the breakdown to see how many print vs audio books vs e-books I read. I  am still primarily reading print copies over the other formats.

Physical: 153
Audio book: 37
E-Book: 29 (count includes the 2 short stories from good reads count)

my reading goal for 2014 is to finish reading all the books traded through bookcrossing.com from 2012 and earlier and to take them to the nearby little free library that went up near my school last fall or the local coffee shops take a book/leave a book shelves.

Books Read in December 2013.

Print Books:
1.) Brazen by Carly Phillips
2.) Fat-free and Fatal by Jaqueline Girdner
3.) Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith and Love by Dava Sobel
4.) Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett
5.) Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas by Nicholas Sparks
6.) A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table by Molly Wizenberg
7.) Do Kangaroos Wear Seatbelts? by Jane Kurtz, Jane Manning (Illustrations)
8.) Axle Annie and the Speed Grump by Robin Pulver, Tedd Arnold (Illustrations)
9.) Mrs Armitage on Wheels by Quentin Blake
10.) Mrs. Armitage: Queen of the Road by Quentin Blake
11.) Axle Annie by Robin Pulver, Tedd Arnold (Illustrations)
12.) Baudolino by Umberto Eco
13.) Plainsong by Kent Haruf
14.) Season of Wonder by Paula Guran (Editor)

Audiobooks:
1.) Kitty and the Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn
2.) Honor Among Enemies by David Weber
3.) The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch
4.)  In Enemy Hands  by David Weber

E-Books:
1.) Water: Tales of Elemental Spirits by Robin McKinley, Peter Dickinson
2.) Fire: Tales of Elemental Spirits by Robin McKinley, Peter Dickinson

03 December, 2013

Books Wild Released in November 2013

1.) Blackberry Wine  by Joanne Harris on 11/5/2013
2.) Two Tiny Claws  by Brett Davis on 11/5/2013
3.) When Duty Calls: A Novel of the Legion of the Damned  by William C. Dietz on 11/5/2013
4.) But Inside I'm Screaming  by Elizabeth Flock  on 11/11/2013
5.) The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks  by Rebecca Skloot on 11/11/2013
5.) What Does Joan Say?: My Seven Years As White House Astrologer to Nancy and Ronald Reagan  by Joan Quigley on 11/11/2013
6.) The City of Falling Angels  by John Berendt on 11/19/2013
7.) The Autumn Castle  by Kim Wilkins on 11/19/2013
8.) Master of Dragons (Mageverse, Book 8)   by Angela Knight  on 11/20/2013
9.) The Last of the Red-Hot Vampires (Dark Ones Novel)   by Katie MacAlister  on 11/20/2013
10.) The Illusion of Separateness: A Novel  by Simon Van Booy on 11/20/2013
11.) Bridge of San Luis Rey, The  by Thornton Wilder  on 11/26/2013
12. The Copenhagen Connection  by Elizabeth Peters  on 11/26/2013 
13.)The War of the Worlds (Tor Classics)   by H. G. Wells on 11/26/201
14.) The Rescue  by Nicholas Sparks on 11/26/2013

02 December, 2013

Books Read in November 2013

Print:
1.) Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
2.) Two Tiny Claws by Brett Davis
3.) Master of Dragons by Angela Knight
4.) The Last of the Red-Hot Vampires by Katie MacAlister
5.)  The City of Falling Angels by John Berendt
6.) The Autumn Castle by Kim Wilkins
7.) The Illusion of Separateness: A Novel by Simon Van Booy 
8.) The Rescue by Nicholas Sparks 
9.) Zen and the Art of Vampires by Katie MacAlister 
10.) How Long Will I Cry? edited by Miles Harvey


Audiobooks:
1.) Bad Monkey by Carl Hiaasen
2.) Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman
3.) Memory by Louis McMaster Bujo
4.) Dodger by Terry Pratchett

E-Books:
1.) Gaea by Robina Williams

01 December, 2013

Book review: How Long Will I Cry? Voices of Youth Violence

Title: How Long Will I Cry? Voices of Youth Violence
Editor: Miles Harvey
Publisher: Big Shoulders Books
Publication Date: 2013

This book is a companion to the play How Long Will I cry? that was produced by the Steppenwolf Theater in 2013.

The final version of this book was a collaborative effort by the creative writing students at DePaul University located in Chicago, IL. It uses collaborative story-telling methods to collect the real stories of people in Chicago whose lives have been touched by violence.

Chicago is still extremely racially divided. recent information given by the country France to it's tourists coming to visit the city tells it's citizens to avoid whole sections on the South and West sides of the city due to the mortality and crime rates.

This book takes stories of many types of people from many areas of the city to talk about the impacts of violence caused by and to the youth of the city of Chicago. Story types range from those of families who have lost children, community member in neighborhoods affected by violence who are working to change the neighborhoods in positive ways, stories told by both current gang members and ex-gang members, and youth who have been affected by the violence in many different types of ways. The stories while mainly focused on the South and West sides of the city also show how ares on the North and Northwest sides of the city are being affected by gang related violence.

This book impacted me in ways that I wasn't expecting. The stories, while predominantly sad, and filled with rage and hopelessness also had hope sprinkled through it's pages. Stories were shared by people who were trying to make a difference after loosing their own loved ones to violence. At the end of the book there is a list of organizations who are trying to work against youth violence in the city and while one could be disheartened by the length of the list, it is amazing to see how many people care about changing the city that I live in.

As a life long resident of Chicago my entire life I was spared  the effects of neighborhood gang violence until my late teens. I grew up in a neighborhood on the Northwest side that was predominantly white, with a strong Irish and Polish element to the families living in it. when I was in high school I attended a magnet school which drew students from all parts of the city, and was very racially diverse. I made friends from outside of my own neighborhood and sadly lost one to gang related violence right after graduation. There were times going out when I knew I had to either go home before a certain time or call for a ride home because it wasn't safe to wait for the CTA where we were.

This book is being given to readers for free through various events to promote awareness of the issue and by request to Big Shoulders Books which is a very big thing. By making the book free it will help get it into the hands of people who might not be able to buy a book, and the publishers encourage readers to pass their copy along to another reader when they finish. I was 1/4th of the way through the copy I was reading before I passed it onto a sociology student at NEIU That I had just met after it sparked a conversation between she and I. I plan on passing this copy on through one of the little free libraries that have popped up on the North/Northwest side of the city to hopefully find a new reader to touch.

Readers who are interested in acquiring their own copy of this book can visit Big Shoulders Books page about the book to request a free copy.

04 November, 2013

Books wild Released in October 2013

11.)  The Imperator Plot by Steven Spruill  on 10/1/2013
22.)  Breaking the Trust by Lucy Clare on 10/12/2013
33.)  Mariel of Redwall  by Brian Jacques on 10/12/2013
44.)  Mossflower  by Brian Jacques on 10/12/2013
55.)  Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend by Victoria Laurie on 10/12/2013
66.)  Chloe by Freya North on 10/18/2013
77.)  Cleopatra 7.2  by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough on 10/21/2013
88.)   Twilight  by Stephenie Meyer on 10/22/2013
99.)  New Moon by Stephenie Meyer on 10/22/2013
110.) Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer on 10/22/2013
111.) Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand by Carrie Vaughn on 10/27/2013
112.) Kitty Goes to Washington  by Carrie Vaughn on 10/27/2013
113.) Corpse de Ballet: A Nine Muses Mystery by Ellen Pall on 10/27/2013

114.) Even Vampires Get the Blues by Katie MacAlister on 10/27/2013

03 November, 2013

Books Read in October 2013

Print:

1.) The Imperator Plot by Steven Spruill
2.) Breaking the Trust by Lucy Clare
3.) Chicken With Plums by Marjane Satrapi
4.) The Simulacra by Philip k. dick
5.) Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly by Anthony Bourdain
6.) The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
7.) The Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
8.) Demons are a Ghoul's Best Friend by Victoria Laurie
9.) Engaging the Enemy by Elizabeth Moon
10.) Chloe by Freya North 
11.) Cleopatra 7.2 by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
12.) Echo Recoil by Lazarus Chernik, Echo Chernik
13.) The School of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister
14.) But Inside I'm Screaming by Elizabeth Flock
    
Audiobook:

1.) Transition by Iain M. Banks
2.) Flag in Exile by David webber