In accordance to the FTC guidelines, I must state that I make no monetary gains from my reviews or endorsements here on Confessions of a Literary Persuasion. All books I review are either borrowed, purchased by me, given as a gift, won, or received in exchange for my honest review of the book in question.

07 January, 2017

Bout of Books Day 6

Bout of Books 18





Today I finished reading:

Indian Captive: The Story of Mary Jemison by Lois Lenski

Today I listened to/ read but didn't finish:

Babylon's Ashes by James S.A.Corey

06 January, 2017

Bout of Books day 5

Bout of Books 18



Today I finished reading:

The Wrong Bride by Gayle Callen

Elengil and I listened to more of  Babylon's Ashes by James S.A. Corey

05 January, 2017

Bout of Books day 4

Bout of Books 18

Today for my commute reading I picked up a copy of The Wrong Bride by Gayle Callan.

I picked this historical romance up in the recent past few months from the friends of the library's book sale nook. 

While it doesn't help me with my goal of reducing books traded with other bookcrossers in the past, it does take a book off of the massive mt. TBR. 

I got about halfway through the book today.

Bout of Books Day 3

Bout of Books 18




Today was all about the romances.

I finished reading:

Marry Me at Christmas by Susan Mallory 
My Second Chance by Shelley Munroe

03 January, 2017

Bout of Books day 2

Bout of Books 18





Today has been a day for returning to school after break and getting the preschoolers back to the normal daily routine. It was damp and foggy here a good portion of the morning and I was dragging.

Books read today:

I forgot my headphones to listen to a commute audio. Instead I picked up Marry Me at Christmas by Susan Mallery. 

Bout of Books 18 day 1

Bout of Books 18


I finished my print book in progress last night during the end of the book obsessed winter read a thon so will be picking a new book to read later today.

I am on the middle of 2 different audiobooks at the moment. 

Which I am listening on my own during computer gaming and my morning commute. 

Which I am listening to with Elengil. 

Progress for today:

Today is the last day of my winter break. So it was all about sleeping in, running errands, and getting ready to go back to work tomorrow. I didn't get much reading done at all today. We listened to about an hour of  Babylon's Ashes by James S. A. Corey while driving around doing errands. 

26 December, 2016

Bout of Books 18

I am planning on taking part in the Bout of Books 18th round. It runs from 1/2/2017 - 1/8/2017. This week long read a thon will give me a chance to start the year off reading strongly. This will be the first year that I will be working as well as particulating in the read a thon so i will have a mix of picture books along with my commute and fun reading. 

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 18 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

01 November, 2016

Book Review: Luncheon of the Boating Party by Susan Vreeland

title: Luncheon of the Boating Party
Author: Susan Vreeland
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: 2008

There are paintings throughout history that are very well known by everyone. Pierre August Renoir's painting Le Déjeuner des canotiers also known as The Luncheon of the Boating Party is one of those paontings that helped make the Impressionism movement as well known as it is today. Author Susan Vreeland has taken this painting and the creation of it and written a narrative that takes readers back to Paris in the 1880's when Renoir undertook the large scale creation of a painting that he envisioned showing in the yearly salon. In this painting, he had fourteen friends model for him on the terrace of the restaurant La Maison Fournaise. Bt including a mixture of men, women, and high society as well as working class men and women in his painting, Renoir showed the changing ideals of Parisian society. The author  draws her readers into the life of Renoir and life in Paris after the Prussian War in a beautiful and engaging way.

I adored this book, personally. I grew up in a home that adored the Impressionists. My artists father had prints of many of Monet's paintings hanging up. I spent much time as a child in the Impressionist gallery of the Art Institute as a child and teenager looking at the paintings on display by Monet, Renoir, Mary Cassualt, Georges Seurat, Édouard Manet, and Edgar Degas. I still have a love of this art movement and it's influence on future movements such as the post impressionists and the Neo-Impressionists.

 I started with an audio copy which has a wonderful reader. However,  and I I ended up switching to a print copy as I was having trouble keeping characters and events in mind and the book let me easily flip back to remind myself of events and people. I found this to be an interesting narrative of the composition and execution of this painting. I really feel like I got a glimpse into Renoir's life and mind while he was painting.


01 October, 2016

Award winning SFF reading challenge


Shaunesay at The Space Between is hosting a reading challenge to read science fiction and fantasy award winning books. I plan on taking part in this challenge. I am not sure what books I will read yet. I am currently looking at award lists and seeing if any of my TBR pile are included on any of them.  Elengil and I recently started the Chronicals of Amber series by Roger Zelazny as six of the books in the series are award winners I am listing them on my award winning books to be read list.

Books to read:



Books finished reading:

10/1/2016 Nine Princes in Amber by Roger Zelanzy - Mythopoic Fantasy Award (1971). I started this challenge a little early unknowingly. A few days ago, Elengil and I started listening to this during our evening commute home. We finished it early today and are continuing the series. 

10/1/2016 The Guns of Avalon by Roger Zelazny - Mythopoic Fantasy Award (1973). This is book two in the Chronicles of Amber series. Just as fantastic as book 1, we learn more about the magic and the warring factions of the family members wanting to claim the throne. 

10/7/2016The Hand of Oberon by Roger Zelazny - Locus Award for Best Novel (1977) This part of the story had the feel of a Greek tragedy. At one point E turned to me and said that he thought one of the characters would end up being Corwin's father in disguise. He felt the story was taking the narrative of the king wants to figure out which of his children is the best choice for succeeding him by befriending him while in disguise.  We start to see how Corwin's experiences and long stay on the Shadow Earth have changed him as a person. The more he remembers of his past life as a prince of Amber the more he disagrees with some of his past actions and decisions. 

10/9/2016The Courts of Chaos by Roger Zelazny Locus Award for Best Novel (1979) This is the fifth book in the Chronicals of Amber and the last of the Corwin arc. The conclusion includes a war between Amber and Chaos which has been building throughout the prior books. It ended in a way that felt like a cliffhanger even though I know that the series continues with a new narrator.


10/11/2016 - Trumps of Doom by Roger Zelazny - Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel (1986) - The Trumps of Doom is the sixth book in the Chronicles of Amber. It is also the first book in the Merlin cycle. Narrated by Merlin, son of Corwin who has been raised in the courts of Chaos as well as Amber. Merlin is now living in San Francisco in the shadow Earth his father had called home, and every year on April 30 someone tried to kill him. This time his girlfriend Julia ends up dead and her death, along with a pack of strange trump cards sends him into Shadow and ultimately Amber trying to track down the person responsible.

10/21/2016 - Sign of Chaos - by Roger Zelazny Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel (1988) This is book 8 of the Chronicles of Amber. Merle has been perused through shadow by unknown enemies. He is trapped in an Alice in Wonderland world - a bar with the Mad Hatter serving and the Cheshire Cat grinning malevolently. In a dramatic escape from a monstrous Jabberwock, Merle embarks upon a fantastic adventure, leading him back to the Court of Amber and finally to a confrontation at the Keep of Four Worlds. At the keep he learns some secrets that point him back towards the courts of Chaos and his destiny.